Year of Establishment: 2014
Chairman representing Türkiye: Mustafa Necati Işık
Company: Vera Lojistik A.Ş., İcra Kurulu Başkanı
Counterpart Chairman: 

DEİK/Türkiye-Central America and The Caribbean Business Council was established on May 11, 2014.

Following its decision to develop its political relations with Central American and the Caribbean countries and to establish an infrastructure for sustainable economic cooperation, Turkey took steps to increase its number of embassies in the region from one – in Havana, Cuba – to six. This political move also motivated the establishment of Business Councils in the region. Today, the Republic of Türkiye has diplomatic representations in Cuba, Panama, the Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Guatemala and Trinidad and Tobago.

First meeting of the Türkiye CARICOM Consulting and Cooperation Mechanism was held on 18 July 2014 in the Republic of Turkey. It served as a clear statement of intent to develop relations with the region on a high level. At the meeting, a Declaration of Intention was signed by DEİK and CARICOM.

Central America is made up of the six countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama. The Caribbean, on the other hand, is a collection of 30, mostly small, countries, including Antigua and Barbuda, Anguilla, Aruba, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Curaçao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Cuba, Martinique, Montserrat, Porto Rico, Saint Barthélemy, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Martin, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Surinam, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, English Virgin Islands, and American Virgin Islands. The main language in the Caribbean is Spanish; other frequently spoken languages are French, English and Dutch.

Türkiye has permanent observer status at the OAS (Organisation of American States) and the ACS (Association of Caribbean States). In addition to that, political consulting mechanisms have been established with CARICOM and CELAC (Community of Latin American and Caribbean States). Mutual high-level visits between our country and of the Central American and Caribbean region have become more frequent in recent times

Other Business Councils